top of page

Because i consider myself a traveler and not a "tourist".


I was also a "tourist", even i have done holiday, comfortable, in total relax, doing only what I wanted to do, having someone that settled every morning the bed, which made me get clean towels every day , the candy on the pillow every ready to return to the hotel (or structures), good morning or good evening to you each step to the front desk, always ready to choose dinner and a expansive bill to pay at check out. Also i have been imprisoned in these beautiful facilities for a week and sometimes two, doing various activities in the surrounding area, bound by the structure in which stay overnight or guided tours where expensive listlessly repeating the same things ninety thousand times a day. I was also a "victim" of animations and entertainers, who consistently tried to involve me in their shows. I needed a precise location, to decide well in advance to reserve, deposit, and the only thought was from the day fixed by making sure that the medium was in order, not to have "surprises" during the trip, tire pressure monitoring, cutting , a good wash to the car to open the best what was then called "vacation fantastic and deserved." On arrival via check in, go up in the room, a few shots at the "fantastic furniture", trip advisor rate 4 stars out of 5 must be absolutely beautiful. Racing in the shower, change and go, ready to begin this "fantastic" holiday. With this I am not saying that people who do this kind of holiday is a bad and boring person, I'm just giving my point of view about it, based on my experience. Do not feel necessarily drawn into question :) For me, at some time, everything has changed, it will age, will my instincts, will be because maybe I was destined for this? Hard to know for sure. I felt more pleasure in going on a small table to study the next goal, I felt more pleasure in the book, in giving me advice from friends structures and / or activities and colleagues, I felt more pleasure in leaving the deposit and for any reason fail to start and lose paid, I felt more pleasure in having constraints and above all I felt more pleasure in me to "serve and revere", and pay for it. It was for this and other reasons that in 2009 I decided to face a new kind of journey and I did, starting with the backpack for Australia without knowing where to sleep, eat, and without knowing a word of English, and it was there that I met a new way of approaching the the trip and definitely stopped being a "tourist", I was gaining the basics to become a traveler! But what is the difference then, between tourist and traveler? In my experience, trying both "types", a tourist is one who needs location, safety needs (reservations etc.), a budget set aside for that particular event, invests his time and money into something comfortable and secure, not like the unexpected, after some time requires "go home", and something have paid much attention, always looking for a rich buffet in the breakfast. At the end of the journey remains a pleasant memory, a lighter wallet, and some nice pictures to be archived, but looking inside you do not feel so different, it's exactly how we started, only more relaxed, after a while the stress and returns travel remains only some nice pictures, a vague memory and an "economic gap" to be filled by working.


A traveler on the other hand has an open mind, it does not need a default location, did not need security, loves the unexpected because it increases the potential, has new eyes return from every trip, although let's face it, a traveler never returns definitely from a trip, his head is constantly taken and lost at the same time. It moves slowly from one place to another of the earth and does it for years and sometimes forever can not stop much in the same place, and if he could not would return earlier because not really belong to any place and at any time. Being a traveler made me understand that to focus my time and my resources on a few trips, I have to optimize my resources. Often I hear "I would like to travel but I have no money to do it" and often people who claim this, they spend 10 € per day in cigarettes, or monthly in many different subscriptions, or dinners and outings with friends every weekend, designer clothes , luxury cars to buy and maintain, and who knows what else. So yes, if you want to do all these things and more travel as a tourist you need an oil well under the house and a few diamond mines spread throughout the world, I fully agree. If you want to travel as a traveler, it really serves little or nothing, because it does not matter where, how or when the important thing is to be there, body and mind, save every single noise, smell, glow, treasure it and share with others what we have seen, what we have heard to see and hear them too, to prove to them what we have tried us, there are those who appreciate and who is not, of course, as in all things. At the time, I appreciated very much the sharing of some people who helped me directly or indirectly on this road, with their stories and transmitting their emotions. It 's what I'm trying to do with "The Van Adventures", you try and see an alternative way to travel, I materialize with my van but you realize as you deem more appropriate and closer to your style , maintaining a humble and respectful profile to others, of things and of the world.


"Because you can travel so cheaply" it is a sentence in which I firmly believe, and I try to practice my every trip and in life. Optimize resources, waste, excess, recycle as much as possible before throwing away. And 'the act of an individual but if it became collective future generations would have a future a little better, it tells one that has the rims of his glasses broken for months but has no plans to buy new ones until you can fix! A trip for me is a great sacrifice and to do sacrifice other things, try to reduce to zero consumerism, optimize and focus my resources, I try to save as much as possible during your trip, because the superfluous in my opinion makes losing a little bit direction. I sometimes exaggerating, I happened to sleep among the bushes in the parks, on the beach, under a brick barbecue, at the airport, the train station, they had other experiences very down to earth that I wanted to try, they helped me a lot to keep some humility and believe that although there may seem strange or "bums" can help you to better understand a reality that we often ignore or even because we do not see too surreal for us taken from our activities. Not much money gain, I have a daughter and family expenses, work just me. So if I can travel a lot, trust me that can make anyone (save in very extreme conditions and / or special problems) Optimize your time and your resources to travel, a bell 'dress after years will ruin or can diventarvi narrow or wide, a trip is always there ready to be "worn", subscribe to any subscription can not give you the same satisfaction and emotion a trip, a nice car or a nice bike does not make you feel great, but that he traveled as a traveler. Both tourists and travelers, do it with enthusiasm, after years I consider myself a traveler, whether across the land behind the house, or I try to capture and store everything with utmost care, learn from every little thing, to have a clear mind for accommodate all these fantastic emotions. I leave you with an image that is running on the network so that the extreme but the most of what I'm trying to tell you.

And a phrase that has so much impressed me and I published the day courses: I translate for you: " Who does not move, can not realize their own chains.

Travel, is to give meaning to his life, travel, is to give life to their senses! ♥ "

Made by The Van Adventures

Follow us on our social channels, and if you liked the article share it! As follow:

For questions, tips or information contact us Thanks for taking the time to read this post.

Sorry for any grammatical errors. Elia - The Van Adventures


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Non ci sono ancora tag.
bottom of page