top of page

Hunting Northern Lights by Van.


Ah the aurora borealis! How many of you have dreamed of and perhaps still dream, in that "you" I also put myself! But how many of you have got to see it? If you are the latter detached a little envy you, but also soon I hope to see it.

Yes, because the problem is not going, or rather for many may be, but usually the problem is to have the luck and the conditions to be able to admire. No small feat.

Yes, because I will not take planes to be able to be in his presence.

I want to get off the ground with my van (See more on my half) and I want to go to the northern part of Lapland, very close to head north.

The Northern Lights is a fantastic natural phenomenon and a must see at least once in life.

For those wishing to know more I leave the link to Wikipedia where better to explain the aurora borealis phenomenon.

I only say that the best time to be able to admire it in February and March and in September and October, more or less coinciding of the equinoxes, the aurora borealis phenomena are more frequent.

Easier to admire them from February to March, during the long polar night, when the brightness of the lights shines in the most intense darkness.

The best time is from nine o'clock in the night; virtually on the coldest nights and frost, where temperatures have the vertiginous peaks below zero and you have to spend hours and hours (if you're lucky), otherwise many hours to several days to wait for it to appear, yes, because it occurs suddenly, rapidly , and just as quickly disappears, you need to be away from sources of light in order to have the most vivid colors possible in case you want to see it clearly, or capture the splendor with a photo or even better with a video. Did you know that the northern lights are so bright in certain situations to light the way drivers to slides? Is not that spectacular? Cold and frost under a starry sky and wait those fantastic and colorful lights.

For many it may seem crazy to others like me a fantastic adventure! Of course not everything is reduced only Northern Lights which in itself is something fantastic and that has always fascinated me deeply, but the journey, landscapes, people, cultures , the city is a fantastic mix.

Go hunting for Aurora Borealis is a dream come true in my drawer, for some time.

We put down some right number to give you an idea ...


I would like to start in February, and I would have to exploit about 20 full days, day more or a day less.

3961 km about (very variable) for about 40 h (highly variable) travel, obviously delaying in several stages.

Stop in free parking areas to the extent possible, and save a maximum of tolls and other, because with a van you can travel as much a budget! If you use certain precautions.

The image is in a very simple starting Rimini, from Odense in Denmark, to avoid ferries and final destination Ivalo.

All possible steps along the way in both outward and return are still to be defined, I would like to read up well and try to make good use of the days available and not overburden stages and get too close and do not enjoy full this fantastic event.

I will define much better in the coming weeks, the costs, as soon as I decided the stages, if you have any advice is welcome, write me as well.

I will define even better the equipment that will accompany me on this adventure, besides clothing and preparation of the medium, I'll have to get me also several technological gadgets, to document everything carefully and always keep it carefully in my memory and be able to share with you that you have to follow me pleasure .

Here's a video of the northern lights right at Ivalo in Lapland, although there's plenty on the network:



Do you have a van, you have the time available?

The Aurora Borealis is also your dream?

Want to be part of this adventure? Come with me!


Follow us on our social channels, and if you liked the article share it with those who may find it interesting!





For questions, advice information contact us


Thanks for taking the time to read this post.



RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Non ci sono ancora tag.
bottom of page