top of page

Why i chose the Lapland as my travel destination?

As a child I was the "King of why" was a word I had ever in my mouth, "Mom why?" "Why is this happening?" why why!

So I will dive into the past and I will return to my fantastic because, only this time (apart from the question of the introduction) give answers.

Why I have chosen as a destination Lapland?

No! rephrase the question: "Why Lapland chose my heart as a destination?".

Better, yes, definitely it sounds better.

I try to give some answers:

- Because is a fantastic land, which has always fascinated me a lot, made of myths and legends and incredible contrasts, from the sun this 24h in summer (even midnight sun) called the dark winter days, the endless moors with snow, landscapes boundless, from the forest, arctic wind blowing strong in the hills, from the beautiful blue lakes, the opportunity to enjoy a unique spectacle as the northern lights (is one of the best places in the world to observe it), and, no small feat, since one and only Santa Claus!That's true! It will be because as a child I always said I wanted to be great to bring the letter to Santa Claus in person, it will be because I believed firmly up to 17 years, or perhaps at the end I still like to believe that there is this fantastic character who does all this work just to make happy children around the world. Then reality we all know how it is.


- Because when you are "hunting" of the northern lights and six in total darkness, when you look up to the sky (weather permitting) you can enjoy a beautiful starry sky, but not the usual "sky city" or "country sky "in total darkness the stars will be a hundred thousand times more beautiful, brighter and more numerous than you have ever seen! reminds me a lot the nights spent in Australian outback to observe the beautiful starry sky, on the roof, in total silence; are those things that you absolutely must do once in life, often modern society us to "train" to look down and it is difficult to look beyond their nose, who has a long nose like mine is lucky because it will see a little more distance :)


- Because is cold and temperatures are rigid, everything is sterilized, still, muffled, where the "hunchbacked" trees show their hard work in support the weight of snow on its "shoulders", where, your breath becomes a little shorter , where you can completely immerse yourself in the snow while standing, at least for me as 1.70 will be rather easy.

When I decided as a destination Lapland, it was because I did not want something easy, comfortable, where arrivals, parking in camping and do guided tours, is not for me, I wanted something fairly strict and difficult with which he had to do something the edge of survival, where you have to use your head and hands to solve certain situations.



- Because when I compare myself with colleagues or friends, I always like to hear the usual responses "but who makes you do?" or "go by plane and rent something there" or even "you're crazy to go to those lands", "Santa Claus does not exist!".

Who am I doing this? Actually, I, I am the culprit! I want to do, it is an impulse that comes from within, that hardly controls, and those of you at least once in their life has had it knows what I'm talking about.

I do not go on the plane, I have my "time machine", my "magic carpet", the hut of my dreams, to go by plane would be too easy, and would not give me special satisfaction such as the risk of being on foot or I do not know; you burst a tire while you're going 100 km / h to 15 cm of ice :)

I'm going crazy in that cold, probably, but without folly and adventure are clinically dead!

Santa Claus exists, and why not? if you believe in heaven you must also believe in Santa Claus!


- Because is a land in which you find yourself, or you get lost or forever.

You're far away from everything, and everyone, no entertainment, no horns, no queues in the car, no traffic lights, no excess food, no cigarettes, only the essentials, you and nature.

I think every person should "go back to basics" off and on, these now times force you to become part of a pre-boring system, and are good because they do look nice, right and fun with some "entertainment" or "distraction "reevaluate what really matters in life, the true values, to realize that life is really short and ended the" Game Over "and detached from materialism and consumerism that makes us slaves in part, of course you will not change the world with this ideology, but once adopted will change yourself and the way of relating with others, no small feat; but do not do it for fashion, do it seriously! Nature is the best entertainment! It has a powerful healing power, do not underestimate! Enjoy it as long as you can, it is becoming increasingly difficult to find the pristine, now unfortunately is almost all "contaminated."

Obviously this will be true for some, for others it may be a matter of getting lost forever, and search compulsorily comfort and modernity, in any case enough that you really feel realized.

If you do not feel realized, it is never too late or too early to make lifestyle changes, opinion or thought.


- Because in the vastness of the snowy and icy lands, where nature is king, in every sense, you feel a little more humble and understand fully the meaning of words like these:

"I a universe of atoms, an atom in the universe" by Richard Feynman and many other similar thoughts.


- Because should I prepare and make several changes to the middle to make it "fit" to those temperatures, and in those situations, and I have to put into play my experience my skills and my wits, to be "ready."

Some ideas to prepare the means I had it and I'll have other (read article here)

All this sounds like an adventure and a bit like challenges and I like it a lot!


- Because the mood of the Finns during the winter turns.

Suffer from the lack of light and, unlike the beautiful summer days where everyone is cheerful and happy, it is hard to adapt to the short, dark and icy winter days.

And the 'beginning of' winter is the hardest part, because of the awareness of being alone all 'beginning of an' other long cold winter season.

Problems that we say not, because even in winter there is always light except for some bad weather day, where it is very dark early.

This aspect fascinates me!

See how man depends entirely on the nature, the natural changes affect humans physically and mentally, and yet the modern man always tries to take more distance and power of nature, even though she is totally dependent and his whole existence is closely related to it.


- Because being the "land of Santa Claus," I can run around free without bias because the Lapps are used to seeing Mr. Santa's Claus elves, running undisturbed forests! How nice nothing unfortunate jokes about my height! :)


- Because it has an amazing wildlife, including the famous reindeer and huskies, who are the icons of Lapland are also: Bears, wolves, owls Lapps, the beautiful lynx, the Wolverine, the Siberian jay and the white-tailed sea eagle! I hope to see someone during my explorations!


These are some of the reasons why I have chosen as a destination Lapland, of course there are others, but not to bore you too will keep them for me.

Follow us on our social channels, and if you liked the article share it with those who may find it interesting!


For questions, advice information contact us

Thanks for taking the time to read this post.

The images in this article are taken from the network



RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Non ci sono ancora tag.
bottom of page